Crepes, Cast Iron, Family

One of the things I did regularly in Montana was make crepes for breakfast (and lunch, and dinner). It’s become sort of a family thing, Isaiah will ask for them if it has been too long since I have made them. He has been asking recently for me to make some, so this week I mixed up some batter (by hand since our blender, mixer, and almost all the other electric kitchen devices have abandoned in favor of space.

Image

Making crepes for the first time in the 5th wheel. Using a Lodge cast iron pan.

I follow a ratio I found in the America’s Test Kitchen cookbook that’s done well for my tastes, works reliably and isn’t too thin or thick. It’s something like this:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1.5 cups of milk
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 2 tbsp of butter

Then the process I follow is to melt the 2 tbsp of butter in a small dish and set aside to cool. Mix the cold wet ingredients (eggs and milk), then mix in the flour whisk, beat or, blend, until it’s smooth. Lastly, mix in the melted butter as quickly as possible so that as it chills and hardens it makes microscopic lumps (not even noticable to the naked eye).

Then I let the batter rest until the pan is ready. I use an electric skillet on the ranch, I’m used to it and we’ve become friends. We understand each other. ¬†Unfortunately that gargantuan (11×17?) pan is too big for the 5th wheel — it’s also mono-purpose and poses a large mess factor (no edge to contain spatter).

Last night I went in search of a pan to make crepes with the batter I made earlier in the week; I found a reasonable cast iron pan that’s shaped the way I like (for crepes) and can be used in many different ways. It was also reasonably priced (although I just found it on the Lodge website for $4 less than the store!).

The first few were touch and go, would we be enjoying crepes in the 5th wheel or should we give that up and create a new tradition? By the 6th or 7th crepe, it was decided. The pan performed, the batter worked, and the crepes were gone! We’ll be doing this again soon.

What do you think?

