Navajo in Montana in Seattle

While at the University of Washington Medical Center, I found this silver gelatin print hanging on a bleak wall outside ICU.

The feathers bring to mind angels and doves. I thought of this verse:

And I say, ‘O that I had wings like a dove!
   I would fly away and be at rest; Psalm 55:6, NRSV

©1996 Phil Borges, “Joseph, 2; Crow Agency, MT,” 20″X20″. Joseph is a Navajo dancer from Window Rock, AZ.  Borges shot his portrait during a Crow pow-wow in Montana.

What do you think?

